Wymondham C of E Primary Schoool Governors

The aim of the Governor team at our school is to work with the staff in helping the children achieve their full potential in a happy, caring environment.

We do this in four main ways:

  • Monitoring the performance and progress of our children
  • Working with the staff to help them teach and care for our children
  • Deciding on how the resources of the school are best used
  • Planning ahead so that the performance of our children and our school continues to improve

To deliver this effectively the Governor team members are representative of all the key groups involved in our school – the Parents, the Staff, the Community, the MAT and the Church. Some are appointed and some are elected. All serve for a term of three years.

We meet together at least once a term as a whole team, and in three sub-groups focused on Finance and Staffing, Health and Safety, and the Curriculum. In addition, we each have a specialist subject that we take particular interest in (e.g. Maths, English, Art, ICT).

You may contact me by letter via the school office, marking your envelope ‘Private and Confidential’.

We look forward to a continued successful partnership with you

Dr J Johnston

Chair of Governors

Further Information

Chair of Governors

Dr. Jackie Johnston

Term of Office Start: September 2018
Link Subjects: EYFS / Data, Safeguarding / Attendance

Vice Chair of Governors

Dr. Helen Sykes

Term of Office Start: May 2019
Link Subjects: SEND / More Able / Anti-bullying / Prevent

Foundation Governor and Incumbent

Rev. David Cowie

Term of Office Start: September 2016
Link Subjects: R.E. / Values

Parent Governors

Mrs Katie Field

Term of Office Start: March 2019
Link Subjects: Literacy / Science

Mr Alastair McGann

Term of Office Start: March 2019
Link Subjects: Maths / IT

Local Governors

Mr Derek Cullen

Term of Office Start: September 2019
Link Subjects: Health and Safety / Estates

Executive Headteacher

Mrs Julie Hopkins

Term of Office Start: June 2019

Staff Governors

Mr Ian Beadle

Term of Office Start: September 2018

Miss Kirsty Kingston-Brown
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings


  • Cookies